I was raised in a non-medical household. What that means (for people who might not quite grasp that) is this:
• I’ve never been to a medical doctor.
• I’ve never taken any medication either prescription or over-the-counter.
• I’ve never been to the hospital except to have an x-ray.
• If I get sick, I won’t go pay someone to tell me I’m sick and then get some prescription that will make that someone a lot of money that I will have to pay just so that prescription can make me sicker down the road. I don’t do that, no one in my family does that, it’s how we were raised, and to us, its blatant and vulgar high-way robbery.
You could say we’re very prejudiced against the medical monstrosity that is the “norm” today, and you would be correct.

Interesting things happen to me and in my life I’ve come to realize that the universe has quite a sense of irony. A prime example is my boyfriend, Mike. As I’ve just explained to you about my background, perhaps you’ll be able to see the humor in the fact that Mike is the son of a now-retired OB/GYN. Of all the men in the world, I had to fall for the son of a medical doctor! My family thought it was just hilarious.

Needless to say, Mike was raised in a very medically-oriented household. Yet, even though we come from opposite sides of the coin, we have the same ideals and the same basic beliefs which makes a lot of things very easy. However, because of his background, I have to teach him a LOT. He was raised knowing only the AMA/FDA side of things and never had to look outside the box. Till he met me.

I’ve opened his eyes.

We were sitting at the table having dinner a few weeks ago and we started talking about food, and Mike asked me a very good question. “What’s the worst of the worst as far as the crap they put in food.”

Well, I had to think about it for a little while, and after weighing the list of cons of additives like MSG or Aspartame against the list of cons of additives like Hydrogenated Oil, I finally decided on High Fructose Corn Syrup. Now, after what I found out today while doing research for this blog, I am sticking to that deduction. High Fructose Corn Syrup is the worst of the worst.

So let’s get into this because everyone, always, wants to know why. Why is the all important when you’re trying to educate instead of indoctrinate.

I can already hear you out there with your media-based argument that will go something like, “But I just saw a commercial on TV talking about how High Fructose Corn Syrup is all-natural and it’s made from corn and it has the same sweeteners that sugar has!” Before you accept the TV’s word as gospel about HFCS, take a moment for your health’s sake and read the rebuttal.

{I’d just like to take a moment and appreciate the art of being vague. Because that is how the people who make these claims about High Fructose Corn Syrup get away with it.}

{I’d also like to take a moment to appreciate the art of media-control. Without which, the American people would not be who they are today. You can use it, or abuse it, and big business abuses it to the fullest extent it can.}

“High Fructose Corn Syrup is ‘all-natural.’”
Well, corn is natural. That’s about where it ends. The process by which we beget HFCS (I’m going to abbreviate from now on, I hope you’ll understand) is anything but natural.

For length’s sake I’m going to refer you to this webpage explaining in detail the break-down of the process used to make HFCS: http://www.westonaprice.org/motherlinda/cornsyrup.html

Suffice it to say that corn is subjected to enzymatic chemical breakdowns until it is changed into something that neither tastes like or looks like corn. Few things are of much use to the body when they’ve been so removed from their natural state that they can no longer be recognized

“High Fructose Corn Syrup has the same natural-sweeteners as table sugar.”
This is where I applaud the CRA’s (Corn Refiners Association) use of vagueness. Yes, HFCS has both fructose and glucose which are present in white sugar from sugar beets and sugar cane. What they’re not telling you is that because it is a man-made ratio of glucose to fructose it is fundamentally imbalanced; the body can’t use it. In fruit the ratio of glucose to fructose is 50/50, equal parts in a sucrose molecule. However, in high fructose corn syrup the ratio can be as off as 20% glucose to 80% fructose and that leaves a huge amount of unbound fructose in your body. Not only does this tax the liver (but hey, what doesn’t tax the liver these days?), it can cause high cholesterol, blood clots, and a decrease in white blood cells. HFCS robs the body of essential trace minerals like copper, magnesium and chromium. It can cause sugar to show up in the urine, it can cause a lot of trouble with the pancreas (HELLO DIABETICS!!!). It contributes to calcium deficiencies. Check it out: http://www.westonaprice.org/modernfood/highfructose.html

As anyone with any basic science knowledge understands, you can have hydrogen atoms in a substance along with a few other elements and you’d have the life-giving substance of water, OR you can have hydrogen atoms in a substance with a few other different elements and you’d have a life-destroying bomb.

Maybe that’s a little dramatic as an analogy for something like the difference between sugar and High Fructose Corn Syrup. But when you look at it from a health stand-point, you may find it’s not so inappropriate.

Believing what the Corn Refiners Association says about High Fructose Corn Syrup is like believing the drug studies funded by the American Medical Association. Do you really think they would ever publish a study that would challenge or disprove their gospel? For the Truth you have to look at other studies that are privately funded. In most of those cases no one is being paid to say a lie is the truth.

I would like to say that I eat a diet that is free of high fructose corn syrup. It’s not expensive and it’s not difficult. It’s not gourmet or fancy. All you have to do is read labels and be willing to choose another food to replace what has HFCS in it. I have complaints from parents all the time that their children, their sick children, their ADD diagnosed children, their children wit allergies, their children with asthma “like that food and want it.” Well if you would like to have a healthy child who can behave, wouldn’t it be worth it to just feed them better? Wouldn’t it be worth not having to take them to the doctor every month or buying prescription medications for a CHILD or buying an inhaler for them, if their health could be changed just be feeding them?

Please people, pay attention to what goes into your children’s mouths! Why do you let them have that gum? It makes them happy, sure, but how unhappy will they be when they have kidney stones from the aspartame? They like Kool-Aid, ok, but do you know that food dyes can cause ADD and ADHD all on their own?

If you don’t believe me, for argument’s sake, torture them and take that crap out of their diet. Just one thing. Just the food dyes or just the aspartame or just the high fructose corn syrup, and see what happens. Just see what happens. And not for one day or one week. Try it for one month – 30 days of hell on earth without Doritos – and see what happens.

Oh yes. Here’s what I was somewhat entertained to read about HFCS when I did research earlier. Here’s the headline: Study Finds High-Fructose Corn Syrup Contains Mercury http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2009/01/26/AR2009012601831.html

“The use of mercury-contaminated caustic soda in the production of HFCS is common. The contamination occurs when mercury cells are used to produce caustic soda.”

Awesome. As if it weren’t enough that its sugary-sweet poison, now its sugary-sweet poison WITH MERCURY!

Enjoy!!!

~~Olivia

